congressional art show

Congressional Art Show

The 6th District Congressional Art Show, sponsored by Congressman Seth Moulton and hosted at Montserrat College of Art, will be held this year March 14 – 16, 2024 in the Montserrat Gallery at 23 Essex St., Beverly.

The exhibition and competition is open to students in grades 10 – 12 in public and private high schools and students being home-schooled in the Sixth Essex Massachusetts Congressional District (see towns in side link) including home-schooled students.

The show closes with an awards reception with Congressman Seth Moulton, and Montserrat Interim President Brian Pellinen on Saturday, March 16, 2024, from 3:30 – 5 pm.

During the reception, certificates are awarded by Congressman Moulton and winners receive varying amounts of scholarships to Montserrat College of Art’s summer Pre-College Program. The work of the grand prize winner is sent to Washington DC to hang in the Capitol Building for one year with winners from the other congressional districts across the nation. A ceremony to honor the winners is held at the Capitol Building in June.


  • Teachers deliver artwork to Montserrat College of Art’s Hardie Building, 23 Essex St., Beverly
  • Friday, March 8, 2024 3 – 6 pm and Saturday, March 9, 11 am – 3 pm.
  • Hanging, labeling and jurying of the show is held Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.
  • Schools are notified of winning works on Wednesday and Thursday, March 13 and 14, 2024
  • Exhibition is open to the public Thursday, March 14, 3 – 6 pm and Friday, March 15, 3 – 6 pm.
  • Closing reception with Congressman Moulton is Saturday, March 16, 2024, 3:30 – 5 pm.



Montserrat College of Art and Congressman Seth Moulton are proud to announce the winners for this year’s Sixth District Congressional High School Art Competition and Show. This year 122 students from 21 schools across the district submitted their work to the show. This year’s Grand Prize winner is Herin Lee of Billerica Memorial High School. The winning piece, Vulnerable, will be sent to Washington, DC where it will hang in the Capitol building for one year alongside the winners from other Congressional districts across the country.

An award ceremony recognizing the winners will be held on Saturday, March 16 at Montserrat’s Hardie Building, 23 Essex Street, Beverly. The winning work and honorable mentions will be presented with a citation from Congressman Moulton. Additionally, Montserrat will provide the awardees and honorable mentions varying amounts of scholarship to the college’s Summer Pre-College Program totaling $15,500. The gallery will be open from 3 – 6 pm Thursday and Friday, March 14 and 15, and 3:30 – 5 pm on Saturday, March 16.

The full list of winners includes:

Herin Lee, Billerica Memorial High School, Vulnerable

Erica Langlais, Danvers High School,Yin & Yang

Alexi Sutaria, Landmark School, Tweety

Chloe Nickerson, Marblehead High School, Lost in the Shadow


  • Acorn Gallery School of Art, Jessica Valatka, Dreaming
  • Beverly High School, Lauren Parga, Childlike Indulgence
  • Burlington High School, Dylan Giles, Alaskan Train
  • Covenant Christian Academy, Ellie Knowlton, 1987
  • Essex North Shore Agricultural & Technical School, Annabelle Johnson, The Blues
  • Gloucester High School, Cade Cooper, Found Fahim
  • Hamilton-Wenham Regional High School, Julia Bial, Taxi
  • Lynn Classical High School, Emma Chevalier, Nostalgia
  • Lynn English High School, Keo Son, Go Away World
  • Lynnfield High School, April Sun, Her Anticipation
  • Manchester Essex High School, Miles Takayesu, Unity
  • Masconomet Regional High School, Abigail Brady, Piling Up
  • North Reading High School, Stella DaSilva, Erosion of the Mind
  • Peabody Veterans Memorial High School, Bailey Merchant, Running Home
  • Rockport High School, Caitlin Morin, Melodic Burnout
  • Shawsheen Valley Technical High School, Ava Rega, Frankie
  • Tewksbury Memorial High School, Rhiannon Anderson, Moonlight Drive
  • Triton Regional High School, Samantha McDermott, Belonging


  • Landmark High School: Elaina Vorrais, Self Portrait & Chris McKenna, Eagle
  • Lynnfield High School: Jerusha Robins, Fading Memories
  • Manchester-Essex Regional High School, Henry Swerdolff, We All Love Poppa Marvin
  • Masconomet Regional High School: Joelle DiGrazia, Video Games
  • North Reading High School: Rachel Duval, Extraterrestrial
  • Triton Regional High School: Lauren Manning, Reflections

2024 Congressional Art Show Jurors

Monica Lynn Manoski, Executive Director, Essex Art Center, Lawrence

Michael Miller, Coordinator of Digital Imaging, Professor of Photography, Endicott College School of Visual and Performing Arts, Beverly

Sarah Milton, Executive Director, North Shore Arts Association, Gloucester