2020–2021 Academic Calendar


Download a printable version here

Fall Semester 2020

  • Monday, August 10                                                 Orientation (virtual) for New Students Begins
  • Thursday, August 27                                                Welcome Address (faculty and staff): 11:00am – 11:30am; virtual
  • Thursday, August 27                                                Faculty Meeting, 12:30pm – 2:00pm; virtual
  • Thursday, August 27                                                Make-up day for Studio Evaluations, 2:30pm – 5:00pm; virtual
  • Friday-Saturday, August 28-29                            Residence Halls Open, New Students
  • Sunday-Tuesday, Aug. 30-Sept. 1                       Residence Halls Open, Returning Students
  • Wednesday, September 2                                      Fall Undergraduate Classes begin, 8:20am
  • Wednesday, September 2                                      All-School Convocation*, 10:45am-11:30am; virtual
  • Monday, September 7                                            Labor Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Wednesday, September 9                                    Last Day to Add/Drop Undergraduate Courses
  • Thursday, October 8                                                Faculty Meeting, 9:00am 11:30am; virtual No 8:20am or 9:45am classes; Classes resume at 12:10pm
  • Monday, October 12                                               Indigenous Peoples’ Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Monday -Friday, October 12-23                          Mid-Semester Warning Notice Period
  • Monday, October 26                                               Advisor Meeting (Faculty only), 11:10am – 11:55am; virtual
  • Tuesday, October 27-Friday, Nov. 6                  Advising Period
  • Tuesday, November 3                                             Presidential Election Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Monday-Friday, November 9-20                        Registration for Spring Classes
  • Wednesday, November 11                                    Veterans Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Wednesday, November 18                                   Last Day to Withdraw from Undergraduate Classes
  • Wednesday, November 18                                    Faculty Meeting, 12:30pm – 3:00pm; virtual No 12:10pm or 1:35pm classes; Classes resume at 3:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 24                                          Classes end for Thanksgiving break at 9:15pm
  • Wednesday, November 25                                   Residence Halls Close at 10:00am
  • Wednesday-Friday, November 25-27                Thanksgiving Recess ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Sunday, November 29                                            Residence Halls Open at 10:00am
  • Friday, December 11                                               Last Day of Undergraduate Classes (classes end at 6:10pm)
  • Monday, December 14                                          Evaluation Prep Day
  • Tuesday-Thursday, December 15-17                Semester-end Studio Evaluations*
  • Thursday, December 17                                         Residence Halls Close at 5:00pm
  • Thursday, December 17                                         Fall Undergraduate Semester Ends
  • Monday, December 21                                          All Studio and Liberal Arts Grades Due from Faculty by 11:59pm
  • Wednesday, December 23                                   Final Semester Grades Available via Campus Café
  • Friday, December 25                                               Official Date of December Graduation; Commencement: Friday, May 21, 2021

*student attendance is required
**dates subject to change

Winter 2021

  • Monday, Jan. 4 – Friday, January 22**            Wintersession: Online BFA Courses

Spring Semester 2021

  • Thursday, January 21                                              Welcome Address (faculty and staff); 9:00am-12:00pm; virtual
  • Thursday, January 21                                              Faculty Meeting, 12:00pm – 2:30pm; virtual
  • Thursday, January 21                                              Make-up day for Studio Evaluations, 3:00pm – 5:00pm; virtual
  • Saturday, January 23                                               Residence Halls Open, New and Returning Students
  • Sunday, January 24                                                  Orientation for New Students*
  • Monday, January 25                                                Spring Undergraduate Classes begin, 8:20am
  • Monday, February 1                                                Last Day to Add/Drop Undergraduate Courses
  • Monday, February 15                                             Presidents’ Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Thursday, February 25                                            Faculty Meeting, 9:00am 11:30am; virtual No 8:20am or 9:45am classes; Classes resume at 12:10pm
  • Friday, February 26                                                  Enjoy! No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Monday -Friday, March 8-March 19                  Mid-Semester Warning Notice Period
  • Wednesday, March 17                                           Enjoy! No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Friday, April 2                                                 Academic Advisor Meeting, 12:00pm – 12:45pm; virtual
  • Monday, April 5-April 16                                   Academic Advising Period
  • Wednesday, April 7                                                 Last Day to Withdraw from Undergraduate Classes
  • Wednesday, April 7                                                  Faculty Meeting, 12:30pm 3:00pm; virtual No 12:10pm or 1:35pm classes; Classes resume at 3:40pm
  • Thursday, April 8                                                       Enjoy! No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • TBD                                                                                Montserrat Student Showcase ’21!
  • Monday, April 19                                                      Patriots’ Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Monday-Friday, April 20-30.                                    Registration for Fall Classes
  • TBD                                                                                MASh – Media Animation Showcase
  • Monday, May 10                                                       Last Day of Undergraduate Classes (classes end at 9:15pm)
  • Tuesday, May 11                                                       Evaluation Prep Day
  • Wednesday-Friday, May 12-14                           Semester-end Studio Evaluations*
  • Friday, May 14                                                           Spring Undergraduate Semester Ends
  • Saturday, May 15                                                      Residence Halls Close at 5:00pm (except for Graduating Seniors)
  • Monday, May 17                                                       All Studio and Liberal Arts Grades Due from Faculty by 11:59pm
  • Tuesday, May 18                                                       Departmental Meetings/Program Reviews
  • Wednesday, May 19                                               Departmental Meetings/Program Reviews
  • Thursday, May 20                                                     Faculty Meeting, 2:00pm – 4:30pm; Faculty Picnic
  • Friday, May 21                                                           Commencement
  • Friday, May 21                                                           Final Semester Grades Available via Café Web
  • Monday, May 31                                                      Memorial Day ~ College closed

Summer 2021

  • Monday, May 24 – Friday, June 18**               Summer Session I: Travel Program: Niigata, Japan
  • Monday, May 24 – Friday, July 2**                   Summer Session I: Online BFA Courses (6 weeks)
  • Friday, June 18                                                          Artrageous! 35, Montserrat College of Art’s Annual Auction Party
  • Monday, July 5 – Friday, August 13**              Summer Session II: Online BFA Courses (6 weeks)
  • Monday, July 5                                                          Independence Day (Observed)

* student attendance is required
** dates subject to change