2020–2021 Academic Calendar


Printable PDF

 

Fall Semester 2020

  • Thursday, August 27      Welcome Address (faculty and staff): 8:00am – 11:30am; TBD
  • Thursday, August 27      Faculty Meeting, 12:30pm – 2:00pm; Hardie Building, H-201
  • Thursday, August 27      Make-up day for Studio Evaluations, 2:30pm – 5:00pm; Hardie Building, 2nd Floor
  • Saturday, August 29      Residence Halls Open, New Students
  • Saturday-Tuesday, Aug 29-Sept 1      Orientation for New Students*
  • Sunday, August 30      Residence Halls Open, Returning Students
  • TBD      Freshman Trip to Peabody Essex Museum*
  • Wednesday, September 2      Fall Undergraduate Classes begin, 8:20am
  • Wednesday, September 2      All-School Convocation, 11:10am; TBD
  • Monday, September 7      Labor Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Wednesday, September 9      Last Day to Add/Drop Undergraduate Courses
  • TBD      Bus trip to New York City
  • Thursday, October 8      Faculty Meeting, 9:00am – 11:30am; Hardie Building, H-201 
    • No 8:20am or 9:45am classes; Classes resume at 12:10pm
  • TBD      Freshman Trip to MASS MoCA*
  • Monday, October 12      Columbus Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Monday -Friday, October 12-23      Mid-Semester Warning Notice Period
  • TBD      Art History Modern Developments Trip to the PEM*
  • Wednesday, October 21      Advisor Meeting, 11:10am – 11:55am; The Underground
  • Tuesday, October 27      Advising Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening*
  • Tuesday, October 27      Beyond Montserrat—Professional Practice Workshops*
  • Monday-Friday, November 2-13      Registration for Spring Classes
  • Wednesday, November 11      Veterans Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Wednesday, November 18      Last Day to Withdraw from Undergraduate Classes
  • Wednesday, November 18      Faculty Meeting, 12:30pm – 3:00pm; Hardie Building, H-201 
    • No 12:10pm or 1:35pm classes; Classes resume at 3:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 24      Classes end for Thanksgiving break at 9:15pm
  • Wednesday, November 25      Residence Halls Close at 10:00am
  • Wednesday-Friday, November 25-27      Thanksgiving Recess ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Sunday, November 29      Residence Halls Open at 10:00am
  • Friday, December 11      Last Day of Undergraduate Classes (classes end at 6:10pm); Required Evals Begin
  • Monday-Thursday, December 14-17      Semester-end Studio Evaluations*
  • Thursday, December 17      Residence Halls Close at 5:00pm
  • Thursday, December 17      Fall Undergraduate Semester Ends
  • Sunday, December 20      All Studio and Liberal Arts Grades Due from Faculty by 11:59pm
  • Tuesday, December 22      Final Semester Grades Available via Campus Café
  • Friday, December 25      Official Date of December Graduation;
    • Commencement: Friday, May 21, 2021

*student attendance is required
**dates subject to change

Winter 2021

  • Saturday, Dec. 26 – Saturday, Jan. 23**      Travel Program: Mallorca, Spain
  • Monday, Jan. 4 – Friday, January 22**      Wintersession: Online Courses

Spring Semester 2021

  • Thursday, January 21      Welcome Address (faculty and staff); 9:00am-12:00pm; The Underground
  • Thursday, January 21      Faculty Meeting, 12:00pm – 2:30pm; 248 Cabot Street, The Underground
  • Thursday, January 21      Make-up day for Studio Evaluations, 3:00pm – 5:00pm; Hardie Building
  • Saturday, January 23      Residence Halls Open, New and Returning Students
  • Sunday, January 24       Orientation for New Students*
  • Monday, January 25      Spring Undergraduate Classes begin, 8:20am
  • Monday, February 1      Last Day to Add/Drop Undergraduate Courses
  • Monday, February 15      Presidents’ Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • Thursday, February 25    Faculty Meeting, 9:00am – 11:30am; Hardie Building, H-201
    • No 8:20am or 9:45am     classes; Classes resume at 12:10pm
  • Monday -Friday, March 1-March 12      Mid-Semester Warning Notice Period
  • TBD      Art History Trip to the Museum of Fine Arts (evening)*
  • Saturday, March 13      Residence Halls Close at 10:00am
  • Monday-Friday, March 15-19      Spring Break ~ No Undergraduate Classes, day or evening
  • Sunday, March 21      Residence Halls Open at 10:00am
  • Wednesday, March 24      Advisor Meeting, 11:10am – 11:55am; The Underground
  • TBD      Artrageous! 35, Montserrat College of Art’s Annual Auction Party
  • Tuesday, March 30       Advising Day ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening*
  • Tuesday, March 30      Beyond Montserrat—Professional Practice Workshops*
  • Monday-Friday, April 5-April 16      Registration for Fall Classes
  • Wednesday, April 7      Last Day to Withdraw from Undergraduate Classes
  • Wednesday, April 7      Faculty Meeting, 12:30pm – 3:00pm; Hardie Building, H-201
    • No 12:10pm or 1:35pm      classes; Classes resume at 3:40pm
  • TBD      Montserrat Student Showcase ’21! + Workshops + Awards Ceremony
  • Monday, April 19 Patriots’ Day      ~ No undergraduate classes, day or evening
  • TBD MASh      – Media Animation Showcase
  • Wednesday, May 12      Last Day of Undergraduate Classes (classes end at 9:15pm)
  • Thursday, May 13      Inclement Weather Make-up Day (scheduled if needed)
  • Friday-Wednesday, May 14-19      Semester-end Evaluations & Academic Programming (all students remain on campus)*
  • Monday, May 17      All Studio and Liberal Arts Grades Due from Faculty by 11:59pm
  • Wednesday, May 19      Residence Halls Close at 5:00pm (except for Graduating Seniors)
  • Wednesday, May 19      Spring Undergraduate Semester Ends
  • Thursday, May 20      Faculty Meeting, 2:00pm – 4:30pm; Hardie Building, H-201
  • Friday, May 21      Commencement
  • Friday, May 21      Final Semester Grades Available via Café Web
  • Monday, May 31      Memorial Day ~ College closed

Summer 2021

  • Monday, May 24 – Friday, June 18**      Summer Session I: Travel Program: Niigata, Japan
  • Monday, May 24 – Friday, July 2**       Summer Session I: Online Liberal Arts Courses
  • Monday, July 5 – Friday, July 30**      Summer Session II: Travel Program: Viterbo, Italy
  • Monday, July 5 – Friday, August 13**      Summer Session II: Online Liberal Arts Courses
  • Monday, July 5      Independence Day (Observed)


* student attendance is required
** dates subject to change