Montserrat College of Art Leadership


President of Montserrat College of Art.
Kurt T. Steinberg, Ed. D.

Kurt T. Steinberg, Ed.D. is the 8th President of Montserrat College of Art. He began his tenure at the college on July 1, 2018 after 12 years as Executive Vice President and one year as Acting President at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.

An authority in collegiate operations, Dr. Steinberg has delivered guest lectures on higher education finance, urban planning, and the Massachusetts political process at Suffolk University, the University of Massachusetts Boston, and many professional higher education conferences.

He has served on and chaired accreditation teams for the New England Commission of Higher Education (N.E.C.H.E.), the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (N.A.S.A.D.), National Association of Schools of Music (N.A.S.M.), and the National Association of Schools of Dance (N.A.S.D.). He was elected to serve on the Board of Directors of the North Shore Chamber of Commerce in the fall of 2018.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts in International Relations from Syracuse University and a Master of Public Administration from the Maxwell School at Syracuse University. He earned his Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in Organizational Leadership from Northeastern University.

A resident of Framingham, MA, Dr. Steinberg is an Honorary Trustee of the Danforth Art Alliance after serving as Trustee of the Danforth Museum and School. He was an elected member of the Framingham Town Meeting and later chair of the Town Finance Committee. Dr. Steinberg is married to Sarah Steinberg, a graduate of the Syracuse University College of Visual and Performing Arts and an artist-educator with the Wellesley Public Schools. Mrs. Steinberg maintains a studio practice at Saxonville Mills in Framingham. The Steinbergs have two sons, one of whom attends Framingham High School and the other the University of Massachusetts Lowell.

Learn more about Dr. Steinberg and his message here.

Executive Board of Trustees

Kent Wosepka, Chair
Adjunct Prof. of Finance
Boston College
Hamilton, MA

Richard O’Connor, Treasurer
Johnson O’Connor Feron & Carucci LLP,
Lynnfield, MA

Mercedes Sherrod Evans
Chief Diversity Officer (Retired)
Massachusetts College of Art & Design
Cambridge, MA

John Sutyak, Secretary
EVP, Digital Development Management
Beverly, MA

Heidi Z. Adam, Vice Chair of Advancement
Wenham, MA

Barbara Schaye, Vice Chair- The Council
The Council
Wealth Management
Marblehead, MA

Tyson J. Lynch, Esq.,
Vice Chair of Board Relations
Chair of the Committee on Trustees
Attorney Broker
William Raveis Real Estate & Home Services

Board of Trustees


Chris Koeplin
Chair of the Facilities &
Campus Infrastructure Committee
Beverly Crossing
Beverly, MA

Stacy Thomas-Vickory


Stacy Thomas Vickory
Assoc. Professor and Coord. of Academic Facilities
Visual Comm. & Design

Scott Glosserman
Gathr Films, 
Ipswich, MA

January Gill O’Neil
Author/Executive Director
Massachusetts Poetry Festival
Beverly, MA


Alex Lamb
Chair – Investment Committee
Managing Director
New Summit Investments LLC Manchester, MA




Jeff Hamilton
Hamilton, MA



Dr. Timothy M. Johnson
Head of School
Pingree School,
South Hamilton, MA

Photo Rachel Perry

Rachel Perry
Gloucester, MA and Brooklyn, NY

Photo Judy Schmid

Judy Schmid
Graphic Designer / Artist
Marblehead, MA

photo Alyssa Watters

Alyssa Watters ’07
Art by Alyssa
Beverly, MA

Photo Rich Yagjian

Richard Yagjian
Executive Vice President
WB Hunt Company
Peabody, MA

Kenneth Turner
Chief Executive Officer of the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center.
Hyde Park, MA

Tom Grant

Thomas Grant
Managing Partner
Hale Ventures,LLC
Beverly, MA


The Council

Barbara Schaye: Chair

Stephen C. Archer

John Colucci 

Lee Essex Doyle

R. Hilliard Ebling

Charles Esdaile

Ricardo Fernandez

Miranda Gooding

Henrietta Gates

Deb Greel

Kimberly Smith Guerster

Catherine Mitchell

Brian Murphy

Olivia Parker

Jonathan Payson

Marcia G. Strouss

Paul Trefry


Presidents Cabinet

Jo Broderick:
Dean of College Relations and Special Assistant to the President

Mark Andrews:
Interim Finance Director

Jeffrey Newell:
Director of Admissions

Brian Pellinen:
Dean of Faculty and Academic Affairs

Maureen Wark:
Dean of Students

Olivia Lejeune:
Executive Assistant to the President