Commencement 2020

Congratulations Montserrat Class of 2020!

Jared Patrick Adams – BFA Painting

Deanna Marie Amoia – BFA Photo/Video/Film

Jared C. Aprile – BFA Animation + Interactive Media

Zoië Star Bleau – BFA Sculpture

Jylik Donell Buissereth – BFA Sculpture – Minor: Entrepreneurship in the Arts

Sylvia Pearl Burger – BFA Sculpture

Arielle Marie Carlow – BFA Interdisciplinary Arts

Andrew M. Cook – BFA Graphic Design

Lys C. DelCampo – BFA Printmaking

Jackson Kenëdi Depril – BFA Interdisciplinary Arts

Warren Dickson – BFA Painting

Melissa Ann DiCostanzo – BFA Interdisciplinary Arts

Briel Marcianne DiDonato – BFA Illustration – Minor: Creative Writing

Claire Elizabeth DiIonno – BFA Graphic Design

Susan E. Drennan – BFA Painting – Minor: Curatorial Studies

Sophia Belen Dunzelman – BFA Painting

Dorian James Eason – BFA Animation + Interactive Media – Minor: Creative Writing

Jack Ryan Fay – BFA Painting

Tatianna J. Feliciano – BFA Animation + Interactive Media

Jaime Lee Fox – BFA Painting

Richard J. Fraser – BFA Graphic Design

Emma Mae Gallant – BFA Animation + Interactive Media – Minor: Creative Writing

Richelle Margaret Gilligan – BFA Printmaking

Gabrielle T. Gomez – BFA Art Education

Darion Greggs – BFA Interdisciplinary Arts – Minor: Creative Writing

Alexander Theodore Gunther – BFA Animation + Interactive Media – Minor: Creative Writing

Seth Michael Hart – BFA Illustration – Minor: Creative Writing

Allison Hali Heckman – BFA – Illustration

Shannon L. Herrick – BFA Painting – Minor: Art History

Nicole L. Hosking – BFA Graphic Design

Emma Idalei Ingalls – BFA Animation + Interactive Media – Minor: Creative Writing

Rebecca Jones – BFA Book Arts

Natalia Klimchuk – BFA Illustration – Minor: Art History

Hunter Leigh Lamore – BFA Painting

Annie Lee-Daly – BFA Interdisciplinary Arts

Aaron Matthew Lonergan – BFA Printmaking – Minor: Creative Writing

Brittany Jane Mackenzie – BFA Illustration

Brendan Joseph Maida – BFA Animation + Interactive Media

Jessica Manning – BFA Animation + Interactive Media

Genevieve Marie Marques – BFA Illustration – Minor: Creative Writing

Dillian K. McGahey – BFA Printmaking – Minor: Art History

Kelly Jean McNulty BFA – Interdisciplinary Arts

Francisco J. Vásquez Medina – BFA Photo/Video/Film

Cailee Elizabeth Mitchell – BFA Graphic Design

Cayla Helen Montes BFA – Photo/Video/Film

David Joseph Mshar BFA – Painting

Denali Suzanne Musgrave – BFA Printmaking

Sean Philip Painter – BFA Interdisciplinary Arts – Minor: Art Education

Nathan Devon Peddie – BFA Illustration

Nicole Azirys Perez-Rodriguez – BFA Illustration – Minor: Creative Writing

Zaruga Philips – BFA Graphic Design

Cliff Vincent Pierre – BFA Animation + Interactive Media

Katie E. Robinson – BFA Illustration

Matthew D. Rucki – BFA Painting

Steven Paul Rudin – BFA Graphic Design

Theresa Rose Sauriol – BFA Art Education

Alyssa M. Schadhauser – BFA Illustration

Margaret Anne Skerry – BFA Painting

Gabriela Luisa Sorrentino – BFA Printmaking

Christopher Alexander Williams – BFA Animation + Interactive Media

Vanessa Lynne-Betty Wyman – BFA Photo/Video/Film

Mareson Grippaldi Yates – BFA Photo/Video/Film

Zeynep Begum Yurtsever – BFA Photo/Video/Film



Congratulations to the Montserrat College of Art Class of 2020 which reached their official date of graduation on May 15. Although the college’s Commencement Ceremonies will be held on Saturday, September 12 in person, we wanted to mark this occasion for the milestone that it is. 



Sixty-five seniors will receive Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees from Montserrat College of Art during Commencement ceremonies Saturday, Sept. 12 at 10 am at The Cabot, 286 Cabot St., Beverly. The procession will kick off from Montserrat’s Hardie Building at 23 Essex Street at 9:45 am, led by bagpipes and student-designed banners. It will march down Cabot Street and spectators are welcome to watch.

This year’s keynote speaker will be artists and architectural historian Azra Akšamija, who is on the faculty of MIT in Boston. She will also receive an honorary doctorate of arts degree from the college. Student and faculty speakers will also be chosen and senior class awards will be presented. Other speakers will include President Kurt T. Steinberg and Academic Dean Brian Pellinen.

“We are delighted that an artist of Ms. Aksamija’s stature will be come to Montserrat to talk about her important, ground-breaking work,” said Montserrat President Kurt T. Steinberg, Ed.D. “Ms. Aksmija’s work will be on view in our Schlosberg Alumni Gallery, which is free and open to the public. We hope folks will stop in to view the exhibition.”

Azra Aksamija

Azra Akšamija, PhD is an artist and architectural historian. She is the founding director of the MIT Future Heritage Lab (FHL) and an Associate Professor in the MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT). 

Her work explores how social life is affected by cultural bias and by the deterioration and destruction of cultural infrastructures within the context of  conflict, migration, and forced displacement.

She holds graduate degrees in architecture from Technical University Graz (2001) and Princeton University (2004), and a PhD from MIT (2011). 

Akšamija is the author of two monographs, Mosque Manifesto (2015) and Museum Solidarity Lobby (2019), and editor of The Architecture of Coexistence: Building Pluralism (2020). 

Her artistic work has been exhibited in leading international venues, including the Generali Foundation Vienna, Liverpool Biennial, Secession Vienna, the Royal Academy of Arts London, Queens Museum of Art in New York, Design Week Festivals in Milan, Istanbul, and Amman. Her most recent work was shown at the Sharjah Museum of Islamic Civilization (2019), the Aga Khan Museum in Toronto (2020), and Venice Architecture Biennale (2020).

She received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2013 for her design of the prayer space in the Islamic Cemetery Altach, and most recently the 2019 Art Prize of the City of Graz.

Commencement is an invitation only event for families and friends of the graduating seniors.