Congratulations Class of 2011!

May 31, 2011

Contemporary Artist Amy Sillman, was the keynote speaker and received an honorary doctor of fine arts degree Friday at Montserrat College of Art’s 2011 Commencement ceremonies held at the Cabot Street Cinema Theatre. Sillman recieved an honorary doctorate for her contributions to the world of art, along with James Davies of Beverly, a former president of Montserrat who took the college from its early days as a professional school of visual art, to an accredited, degree granting college. Davies work toward accreditation is seen as critical to the success of the college.

President Stephen D. Immerman and the Montserrat Board of Trustees awarded the bachelor of fine arts degree to 71 students from as close as Beverly to as far away as Idaho. Faculty speaker Assistant Dean and Art Historian Marjorie Augenbraum was joined by senior Kathleen Brennan in addressing the crowd.

A reception and viewing of the All Senior Exhibition followed the ceremony at the college’s main campus building, the Hardie Building, at 23 Essex Street.

Graduation Awards

Graphic Design Award: Alexandra Fiore

Liberal Arts Award: Rebecca Figler

Painting Award: Rocco Capano

Photography Award: Deborah Gray

Printmaking Award: Jake Cassevoy

Sculpture Award: Kevin Quinn

Illustration Award: Dana Martin

Art Education Award: Clara Bohan

Interdisciplinary Arts Award: Megan Deede

William and Ruth Fusco Prize: Kalimah Muhammad

Cornelia Endowed Award: James Durrett

Luz Dorrien Faculty Development Award: Sarah Smith